XR200 v 200X engines

21 replies to this topic
  • CharlieT

Posted 28 October 2008 - 07:11 AM

Ok, I know absolutely nothing about the 200x ATC motors. Blew up the old XR200 motor in my conversion. Guy near here has a 200X ATC with a rebuilt motor that's very reasonably priced, cheaper than a Lifan engine. But what is the difference in the motors? ANy parts interchangeable? Top ends??

• xr75kid

Posted 28 October 2008 - 08:04 AM

Wow that must be a bummer you did such a great job on that conversion.Im no expert on 200x engines either but from what Ive read on here they have more of a performance carb and larger cooling fins on the cylinder. I believe the entire top end if not more is interchangeable. I think the 200x was a performance aimed trike all around. I think I would pick it up if it were reasonable. Id stay away from the Lifan engines.

• WAMXP1MP

Posted 28 October 2008 - 08:33 AM

I'd like to know this myself visually they look similar I think the difference maybe in the kick start and the tranny 5 speed vs 6. Perhaps you could make it into an XR 200 motor swaping the parts around.

• zbnutcase

Posted 28 October 2008 - 08:51 AM

The 200x engine has: Forward kickstart, larger cooling fins on cylinder, .5mm smaller bore, 8.5 to 1 compression, (XRs are 10 to 1), 2mm SMALLER carb, no compression release, 5spd trans. It was detuned by Honda for more low end torque due to the weight of the trike. Yes parts are VERY interchangable but no way to add comp. release to forward kick start. Hope this helps. 'nutcase

• CharlieT

Posted 28 October 2008 - 08:52 AM