No oil pressure after oil change

27 replies to this topic
  • mnichols

Posted October 24, 2008 - 10:48 PM

Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum and I did a search on the problem I'm having but I still have some questions. I just purchased a used 07 YZ450F, brought it home and changed the oil and filter. Checked the dipstick and no oil on it. Started the bike with no problem, checked for pressure and no oil came out after a minute so I turned te bike off. Checked the dipstick again, no oil. Pull the oil filter plug, no oil. Pulled the cover to the filter, no oil. Put everything back on and tried to start the bike again, but this time I could hardly kick start the bike. What could be happening here because I'm new to all this. Thanks for any help you can provide.

• buggs bunny

Posted October 25, 2008 - 05:38 AM

did you put the oil filter in backwards? :lol:

• mnichols

Posted October 25, 2008 - 06:23 AM

Well I could be wrong, but it seems like the oil filter can only go in one way otherwise the oil cover wouldn't be able to go on...right? It started fine right after the oil change, ran for a minute and I turned it off. Now I can hardley the bike over. Not sure what is happening here.

• grayracer513

Posted October 25, 2008 - 07:12 AM

Well I could be wrong, but it seems like the oil filter can only go in one way otherwise the oil cover wouldn't be able to go on...right?

That's true unless the bike has one of the Ready Racing oil filter covers on it. Those lack the tab extension that prevents installing the filter the wrong way.

So, when you drained the oil, did you drain from both drain plugs? Was the dip stick unscrewed when you were draining? Did you put one liter (34 ounces) of oil in it?