Clark Mason - Crankcase Breather Tube

21 replies to this topic
  • brurag

Posted February 09, 2001 - 04:27 PM

Clark,

I read your post on 7/9/00 about removing the stock breather hose, replacing it with 1/2" braded PVC, running it up behind the number plate and adding a UNI-Filiter at the end. Is this still working OK for you? Have you had any problems? I had incident last weekend where I got water in my oil through the vent tube...stalled in 2 1/2 feet of water. It literally sucked!

------------------
Dan in Washington
2000 WR400F

• imported_Scott_H

Posted February 09, 2001 - 08:12 PM

I have been running this setup for the last 6-7 months with absolutely no problems. Its cheap insurance to prevent ingesting water or dust when starting the bike in these conditions. Its also nice not having to deal with the little oil drip on the garage floor following each ride.

• MN_Kevin

Posted February 10, 2001 - 01:48 AM

Dan,
The water thing hapened to me as well. My bike actually locked up with a screech days later. It did this 4-5x. I tore my top end down and found some scoring on the exhaust side of my cylinder.
I brought it to the shop to see about honing. The mechanic (I use the term loosely) said it looked more like dirt or foreign material, as we say in the nuclear industry.
I contacted Eric Gorr about his 420 kit. He said his history on this bike is the cylinders do get damaged from crap getting sucked into the top end. I have not done the Clark thing, yet, butdo plan on it as well.

• brurag

Posted February 11, 2001 - 06:04 PM

Thanks Scott and Kevin for your response. I ran a new breather hose up the frame and terminating it behind the number plate. It worked like a champ on today's ride.

------------------
Dan in Washington
2000 WR400F

• techman

Posted February 12, 2001 - 05:30 PM