Clutch input

11 replies to this topic
  • canyonclimb

Posted October 08, 2008 - 09:05 AM

I have an 04 wr 450. Went to go riding this morning and my clutch would not engage nuetral. Bike started and runs great, but the clutch just won't engage. I tightened the clutch cable and made sure it was working down on the case. cable appears to be working fine. The other thing I noticed is when I pull the clutch in(in first gear), it does release the gear but only slightly. Meaning, the back tire isn't fully locked out, as it does when the clutch is released. I've never had any warning that my clutch was slipping or having any other problems. Any suggestions before I do the old tear down to see if the clutch plates are worn. I am new to this bike, So I thought I would ask before opening the wallet.

• matt4x4

Posted October 08, 2008 - 11:17 AM

the last time something like this came to light on a thread here it was the tip of part #22 that was worn down - you really need to inspect everything though - take the clutch cover off and check your plates for warpage, friction plates for wear and check the tip of the pushrod.

Posted Image

• canyonclimb

Posted October 08, 2008 - 11:26 AM

Ty Matt for the confirmation about the tear down, any chance you have a link to that thread. I couldn't find anything with this similar issue in my thread searches.

• matt4x4

Posted October 09, 2008 - 05:01 AM

I can't find it - pretty sure it was in the YZF forum and should be over 10 pages back (I searched the first 10) - but if you take off the clutch cover it's pretty easy to pull the shaft and see if it's worn down - I think the guy just ended up welding a bead onto the tip and grinding it smooth in order to re extend it to near the right length, one he put it back in and adjusted the cable again it was good.