YZ 426 Bore out or buy new cyliner?

3 replies to this topic
  • jay3and88

Posted September 24, 2008 - 04:25 PM

Hey guys and gals, I've got a YZ 426 that I have to do some work on the cylinder, I need to eather buy a new cylinder or bore it out and sleeve it to fit the new piston. Someone had told me that because of the nickle coating or what ever it's called, if I bore and sleeve I could loose power, Does anyone know if this is true and if so would you really notice it if your not on the track. I'm not a Pro by any means but I do run the bike hard.

It would cost less to sleeve it but would this hurt reliability. Could I bore it out to be a 450?

Just wondering if anyone has had to deal with this.

Thanks,

Jay

• Pincushion

Posted September 24, 2008 - 04:31 PM

It can be punched and renaik'd to run a 97mm piston = yfz444.

Did this to my old 2000 years ago and never had any issues. Made it pull a little better down low. Mid and top felt about the same.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • jay3and88

Posted September 24, 2008 - 04:40 PM

Did you have to change anything else, cams or anything?

• Pincushion

Posted September 24, 2008 - 05:11 PM

Did you have to change anything else, cams or anything?

Nope. All the stock internals remain.

I installed the 03 450 decomp cam while I had the motor torn down, but it was not necessary.

Related Content

Forums
Photo
Supercross

Wilson the Blue Privateer by jetfuel

Dirt Bike   Special Interest Forums   Pro Racing
  • Hot  50 replies
Forums
Photo

The "going back to the other darkside" adventure... by Monk

Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   KTM   250/350/450/505 SX-F & XC-F (4-Strokes)
  • Hot  113 replies
Forums
Photo

BIGBORE FOR YZ450F 2006? by Taattie94

Dirt Bike   Make / Model Specific   Yamaha   YZ 400/426/450
  • 5 replies
Forums
Photo

Megabomb Fitment by 288yz450

• 1 reply
Forums
Photo

05 yz450f not fast enough by RedeyeYZ