CRF 450 Transmission Oil

5 replies to this topic
  • Honky

Posted September 21, 2008 - 05:14 AM

Hey,

I'm new to the whole thumper scene, having only picked up an 04 CRF450R in sweet cond 2 days ago. Was just wanting to give the bike a standard oil/filter service before riding just for piece of mind. Whats the go with the tranny oil, do you use the same grade as the engine oil (SAE 20W-50). Like I said Ive always been on a 2 pot screamer, so please excuse my ignorance. One other thing ,how often should I replace the engine oil/filter?? Ive had advice ranging from 2hrs - 8hrs? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

• CamP

Posted September 21, 2008 - 05:55 AM

What you used in your 2-stroke tranny will work fine in the CRF gearbox.

Engine oil should last 6-8 hours under normal riding conditions. I replace the oil filter every other oil change.

• srmoye2678

Posted September 21, 2008 - 01:54 PM

I use Honda's HP4S 10w-30(FULL SYN) for the engine
For the trany I use Honda's 80/85w gear oil.
I change every 3 to 4 hours and oil filter every other time.
You don't need 20w-50 unless your rideing in extreme heat. You will end up with cold start up wear, because the thick oil flows slow. HP4S can handle extreme heat any way.

• CamP

Posted September 21, 2008 - 02:41 PM

I use Honda's HP4S 10w-30(FULL SYN) for the engine
For the trany I use Honda's 80/85w gear oil.
I change every 3 to 4 hours and oil filter every other time.
You don't need 20w-50 unless your rideing in extreme heat. You will end up with cold start up wear, because the thick oil flows slow. HP4S can handle extreme heat any way.

The problem with 10w30 is that it will shear out of viscosity very quickly. That's not a problem if you like to change oil all the time. 10w40 will provide longer service intervals. 20w50 is fine and it won't increase cold stat wear. That's all I've ever run during the summer here in TX. In fact, I'm pretty sure the new KTM's use 20w60 from the factory.

• sawworcs