Tibial Plateau Fracture, No Surgery?

5 replies to this topic
  • VertSk8r

Posted September 17, 2008 - 09:44 AM

Hello,

I've been lurking on this board for awhile, so I thought I would finally post and share my experience with my TPF.

It was interesting to see that this is a fairly common MX injury. I actually did mine bailing from an aerial at the local skatepark. I've been skateboarding for 33 years and never hurt myself this bad! I'm also an avid Trailrider here in Norcal.

When I landed and heard my leg pop, I knew it was bad. Of course I tried to walk it off, but that didn't work this time. I walked 100 yards to my car and drove 1/2 hour to the ER in lot's of pain.

I'm a Kaiser member so I went there. After much runaround and consternation, they finally xrayed and CT'd my knee and found I had a very clean Tibil Plateau Fracture and Avulsion Fracture of the Tibial Eminence. they didn't seem concerned about any ligament or meniscus injury even though my ACL had been thoroughly stretched in the injury. No Surgery/Hardware!
I was sent home with an immobilizer and RICE order.
After four weeks I requested a functional brace and was released to start working on flexion and extension as well as quadricep exercises. I also began taking Calcium and Vitamin D supplements.
At twelve weeks I went to WBAT and began walking with the walker. After five days, I am now walking with one crutch and have begun formal Rehab. My ROM is currently 110 degrees with 15 degree extension and 125 degrees of flexion. Laxity of the Ligaments seems to be minimal if not non-existent. I have been given more core strength exercises to work with and hope to be full weight bearing and walking by mid-October.
I was very skeptical of the conservative non-surgical approach to my injury at first, but so far things have progressed very well. Maybe I've been lucky?