Help buying YZ450F Please

11 replies to this topic
  • Todddob

Posted September 14, 2008 - 01:21 PM

Hey, I'm considering a 450F for a second bike. I don't race but spend an evening at our local track every other week. This is my first year on a dirt bike. Is there any years to look for or look out for in the YZ450F? I would like the alum. frame one's, what year did they start to make them? I also ride alot with my son, he's on a 50. My 2stroke isn't good for putting around, will the 4stroke be better/worse? Any suggestions would be well appreciated...........

• mxracer206

Posted September 14, 2008 - 03:57 PM

If you are following the little one around keep you 2 stroke or get a 250F.

• Todddob

Posted September 14, 2008 - 05:00 PM

I would say I follow the little guy around %20, race track %50, woods/trails %30. Also I am 6'1" 250lbs so I really like the power of the 450 over the 250.

• grayracer513

Posted September 14, 2008 - 06:47 PM

The aluminum frames started in '06. A bike that late or later is worth the difference just for the suspension.

• husqy360

Posted September 14, 2008 - 08:07 PM

i have the 06 and its amazing for fast trails.
in the tight trails if you go first-second gear 90% of the time they tend to over heat. since i put engine ice it never boild.
but it still dont like slow riding.
i put about 100 hours everything in spec. new tires chain and front seals.
oil every 5h

• tnl

Posted September 15, 2008 - 06:02 AM

Get a 450 even if you don't need the power right now. It's easier to grow into the extra power.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • desert-rat660

Posted September 15, 2008 - 05:38 PM

the 450 would be great for putting around its got alot of low end torque so u can keep the revs down.

• Aka.Goose

Posted September 22, 2008 - 08:36 AM