NOOB--How do you remove the Upper Chain Roller from an '06 DR650SE??

30 replies to this topic
  • txsizzler

Posted 02 September 2008 - 07:20 PM

I have been reading alot of the posts about the upper chain roller issues. However, being that I am a complete noob still, I would like detailed advice on how to remove this upper chain roller, and to be shown exactly where it is at. Pics would be great! Thanks!

Ian

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • boatxr

Posted 02 September 2008 - 08:02 PM

good lord man that question is beyond noob.

the name alone is decriptive enough.
see your chain? now go upper to that and what looks to roll? hint it's round. now remove it. if you have to ask at this point how to remove it then your are banned for life from ever touching your bike. put some silicone or a plug (think hardware store) in the resulting hole.

• txsizzler

Posted 02 September 2008 - 08:16 PM

good lord man that question is beyond noob.

the name alone is decriptive enough.
see your chain? now go upper to that and what looks to roll? hint it's round. now remove it. if you have to ask at this point how to remove it then your are banned for life from ever touching your bike. put some silicone or a plug (think hardware store) in the resulting hole.

Appreciate the snide tip. I will remember to ask you personally next time. :thumbsup:

• boatxr

Posted 02 September 2008 - 10:08 PM

Appreciate the snide tip. I will remember to ask you personally next time. :thumbsup:

you set yourself up on this one buddy.
& sure ask me, i'll help.

• txsizzler

Posted 03 September 2008 - 04:03 AM

you set yourself up on this one buddy.
& sure ask me, i'll help.

Well some of us are first-time wrenchers (besides changing the oil--which can be done simply following the owner's manual). Thats why I come here to ask the questions... not to be chastised. :thumbsup:

• plugeye

Posted 03 September 2008 - 04:04 AM