'03 450f

4 replies to this topic
  • tj_mx104

Posted August 28, 2008 - 08:09 AM

I recently made the switch from 2stroke to 4stroke!
:thumbsup:

haha, and I'm very new to whats different on working with them and aftermarket parts.
Need less to say, I was shocked at how much easier they were to ride and how much power they have! But lets get down to business!

Does anybody have the time for intervals of stuff needed done on them?

I do the air filter after every ride with no exceptions, Changing the oil every 3 to 4 rides. But how long before I do the oil filter, check valves?
I bought it last monday with a new engine that had only 5 minutes on it. I have it up to around 5 or 6 hours now.

Beeing a noob to any four-stroke dirtbike, any help with almost anything would help.

• Deviant253

Posted August 28, 2008 - 08:23 AM

If the motor was fresh i would have already changed filters because a fresh motor can leave tiny little metal peices in the oil after break in. i have one of those reusuable filters on my 250f and they are well worth the money (around $60). i say if your using regular oil filters i would change them ever other oil change. as far as the valves go some people say every 30 or so hours depending on how you ride it. most people will just wait until the bike gets hard to start.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • tj_mx104

Posted August 28, 2008 - 09:24 AM

If the motor was fresh i would have already changed filters because a fresh motor can leave tiny little metal peices in the oil after break in. i have one of those reusuable filters on my 250f and they are well worth the money (around $60). i say if your using regular oil filters i would change them ever other oil change. as far as the valves go some people say every 30 or so hours depending on how you ride it. most people will just wait until the bike gets hard to start.

Ok, thanks man!