450f top end rebuild

4 replies to this topic
  • got5steelman

Posted August 27, 2008 - 08:47 AM

I am getting ready to replace the top end on my 450 this winter during the off season. Do I need to replace the crank and bearings or just stick with the top end? Valves,piston, rings etc. It is an 05 I bought used in 07 it had appx. 20 hours on it when I got it, and now probably in the neighborhood of 45-50.
It still has great compression, I am new to the 4 stroke scene, how long do the 4 strokes last before needing rebuilt? I am very meticulos on oil changes and air filter cleaning after every ride etc, check the valves at 30 hours and they where still spot on. When I tear it down I want to do it right if I am going to spend the time and money to rebuild it, I am a diesel mechanic so the expierience thing is not an issue just looking for some feedback on intervalves on rebuilds for a 4 sroke.

• grayracer513

Posted August 27, 2008 - 09:05 AM

My '03 went from '03 to January of '08 without ever needing a valve adjustment, or getting a top end, or anything other than two timing chains and oil and filter changes.

I'm thinking of dropping a set of rings in my oldest '06, which now has perhaps 100-120 hours on it, this fall, but that's mostly because I'm suspicious of the head gasket in that bike, and I figure I might as well, while I'm at it. It's never been apart before, either, except to replace a timing chain last spring.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • KJ790

Posted August 27, 2008 - 10:31 AM