2002 YZ426F will not hot start.

9 replies to this topic
  • Frank Grimes

Posted August 23, 2008 - 08:32 PM

I have done quite a bit of searching and found no answer to my questions. Though the starting videos helped a bit.
It is a 2002 YZ426F stock except I believe the muffler has been gutted.

I feel I have the starting procedure pretty well. Here is what I do.

-Turn on fuel petcock
-Pull throttle once or twice
-push kick start pedal till it stops
-pull in comp lever
-pull up start lever
-kick it over
It has started up within one or two kicks about every time. It doesn't seem to need the choke as I have started it just find without it.
I let it idle and warm up for a minute or two.

When I get up in the hills and since I am a newb and haven't done much riding in a while and still learning the bike I get in a dead end of a trail and try to turn around and drop it to first gear which it doesn't like very much as it stalls easy. I am still learning and most of the time don't grab the clutch lever in time and stall it out.
Ok now here is my problem!

I try to restart it with the hot start button pulled out and no throttle. It has never worked! I have tried till I was exhausted and the only way I could get it to start was to push start it down a hill. SO frustrating!
Should the button stay out on its own it seems when I pull it out it won't stay out and just snap back close to the carb. If I pull it out and wiggle it a bit it will stay out and still it won't start.

It seems to run great when running well as far as what I have read that could be expected from these.

It also leaks a lot of fuel when just sitting. I usually turn off the petcock to stop it. Could this be related?

I made some effort to try to answer this, but could not find anything. I think I just need some direction. As I wouldn't even know what to specifically call my problem or begin to diagnose it.

• grayracer513

Posted August 23, 2008 - 09:11 PM