What causes "tight" valves?

14 replies to this topic
  • Slow and Jerky

Posted August 09, 2008 - 04:47 AM

Hello all,

Can someone explain to me how (if) valve clearances get tighter as they wear with shims? I have a 98 WR400 with a starting issue and several people have suggested valve clearance.

Also, how tight is too tight? The minimum spec in manual (for intake) is .15 mm and I have one that is .13 mm...?

Thanks,
Rob

• PBDBLUE

Posted August 09, 2008 - 05:26 AM

Valves become tight due to seat/face wear. Although you should shim the tight valve I don't think it has anything to do with your starting problem as it's not that far out. Yamaha's in general and particularly the early ones (ss valves) have very good valve longevity. I'd take a serious look at the carb. Partially blocked pilot jet, float height, float valve leaking can all contribute to difficult starting.

• WR_Dave

Posted August 09, 2008 - 05:32 AM

As a mechanics instructor I have to say that if the spec is .15mm and you are at.13mm, then you are out of specs and need an adjustment. Having said that I agree with PBDBlue, it is more likely a carb issue. Give the carb a good cleaning and remove the float valve seat and clean that part really well and put a new o-ring on it. The o-rings tend to leak after a while and allow fuel to bypass the float, causing a flooding condition. If it is the original float needle it may also be worn to the point of not sealing properly and should be replaced. Good Luck -- WR Dave

• Slow and Jerky

Posted August 09, 2008 - 05:47 AM

I did clean the carb, but I did not replace any of the O-Rings. In my frustration I tried starting fluid, both sprayed directly into the carb and into a rag with no change. Am I correct in assuming that the starting fluid should bypass the normal carb functions and pull the fuel in directly..?

Thanks,
Rob

• WR_Dave

Posted August 09, 2008 - 05:51 AM