01' YZ426F - Advice?

7 replies to this topic
  • TeamTech

Posted July 30, 2008 - 02:57 PM

Hey guys, I just joined the site and have already gotten some great tips from reading through the old posts...I'm hoping you guys can help me out.

I just bought a 2001 yz426f and was wondering if there is anything I should/could do to increase performance or prolong the life of my new bike! The bike has barley been ridden, so aside from oil/lube/filter change and checking the valves...is there anything else you guys would recommend I do?

I'm fairly new to the sport so any advice would be great!

• skthom2320

Posted July 31, 2008 - 08:47 AM

You bought a great, nearly bullet proof bike. It will last you a long time! Just keep the oil and filters fresh and you are good to go!

The jetting was pretty good on this bike out of the box. I rode mine for years with no mods to the carb other than adjusting the jetting for the temps. Make sure you get yourself an extra 40 and 45 pilot (stock is 42), and a fuel screw adjuster (a nice one is the R&D flex jet).

Otherwise do some searching and reading here!

• BASSic

Posted July 31, 2008 - 01:39 PM

Standard jetting is decent if you ride standard conditions, but if you want some flexibility to adjust according to your conditions, you'll need to rejet.

The JD jet kit (available here at the TT store) comes with custom tapered needles and four main jets for the 426: a 160, 165, 168, and 170. Stock is 162. Lots of people swear by it and say it's the best $75 spent on their bike.

I have it and I'm happy with it. There was no night and day performance difference, but overall it runs better. You may be able to get similar results for less money just by buying the correct main jet and needle that you need, but you get everything with the kit that can work for a variety of conditions. You also get the custom tapered needles.