Why are there so many threads concerning trans issues

18 replies to this topic
  • GrassyFlats426

Posted July 24, 2008 - 10:10 AM

I am new to TT and have been reading the yamaha 400,426,450 forums and have noticed alot of questions and problems related to the yz 4 stroke trannys. I currently own a 2001 yz 426 and have had no problems with it. :ride: So whats the deal with all these posts, is it just a matter of time before all 4 strokes have trans problems. I change oil and filter after every ride with part synthetic, I mostly do trail riding, and some personal small track riding. Can any one help me out on this question:confused:

• mvryder

Posted July 24, 2008 - 11:44 AM

Yep the problem is they are made of metal. Even the space shuttle breaks from time to time. I would venture thought that Yamaha has a better track record.

BTW....seriously people....changing the oil EVERY ride? The book says every 600 miles. I swear, people do this because its basically all they know how to do to their motor. If you motor is going to grenade changing the oil fanatically or not didn't have much to do with it.

Your bike will eventually break, it is going to cost you money to fix it. And guess what? Its all fixable.....RELAX people. Just remember, your car cost a whole lot more than your bike, do you even put a tenth of the Maintenance efforts in to it. My Toyota is still running fine!

• matt4x4

Posted July 24, 2008 - 11:53 AM

The only reason you hear about issues on these older Yammis is because they're the only 10 year old thumpers still in existence - I haven't seen any Honda's around lately that are that old and running....

• ShmUDE

Posted July 24, 2008 - 11:59 AM

Your bike will eventually break, it is going to cost you money to fix it. And guess what? [COLOR="Red"]Its all fixable[/COLOR].....RELAX people.

is that fixable?
Posted Image

• mvryder

Posted July 24, 2008 - 12:40 PM

Yes, actually it is.

• GrassyFlats426

Posted July 24, 2008 - 12:48 PM