Gotta Pea shooter?

7 replies to this topic
  • sandfarmer

Posted July 16, 2008 - 09:46 AM

Hey guys, I too am new to this site and to Yamaha. Just came home last night with a 2001 WR426f. I'm new to off road bikes (of the 2 wheel variety) and figure I'm gonna take it easy running around on the field roads and turn rows on the farm before I take to the trails! The "pea shooter" has been removed and for riding around here it's just too loud. I know I would probably take it out for serious trail riding but for what I want to do starting out I'd rather it be muffled more, where can I come up with one? Anyone got one laying around they would want to get rid of? From what I can tell baffle removal is the only mod that's been done, air box looks stock. From what little I rode it this morning it does seem to suffer from the dreaded off idle bog, but boy is she a handful! I can't imagine this thing if it were modded! Thanks for the help!

• Rich_in_Orlando

Posted July 17, 2008 - 08:04 AM

If you can't find one, I recommend getting a GYT-R insert. They are about 40 bucks. Much quieter than a completely uncorked exhaust and still plenty of power.

• sandfarmer

Posted July 17, 2008 - 06:48 PM

Thanks man! I did some checking into it and it looks like just what the doctor ordered. :thumbsup: Fixing to hunt down where to get one now...

• kjr247

Posted July 18, 2008 - 03:43 PM

Yeah, I did the GYTR insert and it works nice and is less expensive than a exhaust.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • byggd

Posted July 19, 2008 - 03:35 AM

I have one of these for my 02. Works nice when I want to quiet it down.
http://www.promotobi.../products_id/49

• sandfarmer

Posted July 19, 2008 - 09:34 AM

Thanks, that looks good too and is reasonably priced. I ordered the gytr insert the other day and am anxious to get it and try it out!

• C-P

Posted July 24, 2008 - 05:54 PM