New (to me) wr400f

6 replies to this topic
  • MicahRoss

Posted July 13, 2008 - 03:30 PM

I picked up a 99 or 2000 wr400f the other day from a guy at work. He forgot the exact year but thinks it's one of those years and Oklahoma didn't title dirt bikes back then. He gave me two sets of front forks and all the riding gear I needed. I got it for 1500 bucks, hope I didn't get ripped off. It runs good and has more power than I need, but I do have a question about the idle. It seems to idle high all the time. Is there something to look for other than a vacuum leak. It does have an after market pipe on it and I don't know he re jetted it or not.

Sorry but I am new to dirt bikes so any help would be great.

• Alternative

Posted July 13, 2008 - 05:58 PM

First, have you tried adjusting the idle speed screw? If it used to idle properly then I would pull the carb apart and have a close look at the slide plate, on the <2001 models with the 1st gen FCR they are known for cracking and breaking and being ingested into the engine. Unfortunately the only real cure for this is to buy a later model FCR carb, if you just replace the plate it could break again. If the plate looks fine then clean all the jets and fuelways in the carb and try it again. You may need a bigger pilot jet if the guy didn't rejet for the new exhaust.

• MicahRoss

Posted July 13, 2008 - 06:48 PM

Ok I will pull the carb tomorrow after I get off work. Thanks, Micah

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • matt4x4

Posted July 14, 2008 - 07:29 AM

The WR 400 was made from 98 to 2000, you should be able to get the manufacturing date off the label on the front of the frame near your triple clamps.
Before you pull the carb, turn the idle screw out a little bit (while warmed up and running, get it down to about 1300rpm - usually just above setting it to smooth not choppy - this should be your starting point.