2006 450 blew up yesterday?

19 replies to this topic
  • Indyman96

Posted July 05, 2008 - 03:36 PM

I was trail riding yesterday and and my motor starting ticking. I assumed it was the valves out of adjustment and starting heading back to the truck. about 5 miles later the engine dogged down and stalled. i tried kick starting about 5 times and now the kick lever will not move at all. I take prestine care of this bike. any advice on what the problem might be would be greatly appreciated.

• grayracer513

Posted July 05, 2008 - 03:41 PM

Timing chain, seized cam, oiling troubles,...no way to know without tearing it down.

• Indyman96

Posted July 05, 2008 - 04:14 PM

im a carpenter so im not confident enough to tear down a head. i guess ill have to take it to a mechanic and get bent over. hopefully i can get this back for under a thousand.

• biznet1

Posted July 06, 2008 - 02:14 AM

im a carpenter so im not confident enough to tear down a head. i guess ill have to take it to a mechanic and get bent over. hopefully i can get this back for under a thousand.

Did you at least check to see if your oil drain plug fell out?

• Indyman96

Posted July 06, 2008 - 08:12 AM

oil level is still good

• 1998YZ400F

Posted July 06, 2008 - 01:25 PM

coolant still good?

• Ga426owner

Posted July 06, 2008 - 01:40 PM

How many hrs on your ride plz?
It may have jumped timing due to a stretched timing chain

• nathanyzf426

Posted July 06, 2008 - 01:46 PM

my motor starting ticking. I assumed it was the valves out of adjustment and starting heading back to the truck. about 5 miles later the engine dogged down and stalled. i tried kick starting about 5 times and now the kick lever will not move at all. I take prestine care of this bike. any advice on what the problem might be would be greatly appreciated.