Help with paper for school. Parts list for top end rebuild.

13 replies to this topic
  • 7d7

Posted June 30, 2008 - 08:04 PM

I am writing a paper for my 101 eng class:prof: , and we have to compare two objects or things, whatever. I chose to compare the 2008 Yamaha WR450F and the 2008 Yamaha YZ250R. I was going to do a cost of ownership breakdown of the two bikes as part of my paper,so i was thinking about including basic maintenance costs as well as the cost for a basic top end rebuild. However, I have little to no experience with four strokes, so i was wondering if some one could give me a list of parts associated with a basic top end rebuild.

Thanks in advance.

• WR450FGreg

Posted June 30, 2008 - 11:18 PM

7d7,

Happy to help (I'm a teacher myself!)

With my limited 4 stroke experience (done countless 2 strokes!) I'd reckon you'd be looking (normally, assuming nothing is broken) at things like:

Piston and circlips
Rings
Small end bearing
Wrist pin
Gaskets

This depends totally on what is actually worn/broken on a particular machine, but the above should be enough for your comparison/paper.

Good luck with it!
Greg

• Demo_Slug

Posted July 01, 2008 - 01:44 AM

if there was anything I learned in college... it was to not get too geeky in GE classes. I'd tend to get more focused on the data, and not focus on what the exercise was really about.

the method of your comparison is what will get you a grade.

• Bamster

Posted July 01, 2008 - 05:06 AM

Posted Image

Posted Image

• mvryder

Posted July 01, 2008 - 10:32 AM

if there was anything I learned in college... it was to not get too geeky in GE classes. I'd tend to get more focused on the data, and not focus on what the exercise was really about.

the method of your comparison is what will get you a grade.