Fork Oil weight???

4 replies to this topic
  • ricky_arthur

Posted June 28, 2008 - 06:20 PM

I recently replaced the seals on the forks on my yz426f. I'm a pretty good mechanic but new to motocylcles. At the Yamaha dealer where I bought the seals, I asked them what weight oil I needed and they gave me 10wt oil... so i replaced seals on both forks no problem, I put just UNDER the reccomended oil capacity to make them a little softer( i had hoped), and actually havn't noticed any real problem with them except that when I was riding with a friend today I noticed his forks where MUCH softer than mine. If he bounces on his pegs the front forks dip 2-3 inches. On mine they don't budge. They seem fine when i'm jumping etc(but like I said, I'm new and might not detect something wrong)Is this because he is on a WR450f and I'm on a YZ??? Or did I put the wrong weight oil in my forks. What weight should it be?? and what are the signs of fork oil being too thick??

Thanks

Ricky

• InlawBiker

Posted June 28, 2008 - 07:32 PM

I'm not a Yamaha rider but I know the YZ forks are a lot stiffer than the WR forks. Yours is built for triple-jumps and the WR is built for trails, so yeah the springs will be different. Fork oil weight makes a difference but not that big a difference.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • intensem1rider

Posted June 28, 2008 - 08:27 PM

The springs are what set your ride height and the first bit of travel, the oil with your air gap is what takes over as your springs from about 1/4 of the stroke on down. So if your forks feel harsh mid stroke when riding you may want to try to lower the oil level more, but if your only complaining about them being too stiff right at the beginning, you may have too stiff of a spring for your weight.

• grayracer513

Posted June 28, 2008 - 08:44 PM