Honest opinions TiPowercore

11 replies to this topic
  • FreshDonutsCAN

Posted June 26, 2008 - 06:00 AM

For my 07 YZ450

The ti power core slip-on is in my price range and has an optional quite insert and comes with spark arrestor both of which are necessities. Is there any other pipe in this price range that you guys would recommend or is this pipe decent for meeting sound levels and not killing power? (Yes i have searched and read what i could although ide never forgive myself if i bought this pipe and it was a total junk)

I need the pipe to meet sound regs at races as well as USFS sparky (it claims 96db with insert?)

PS is the blue anodizing easily scarred or does it fade with heat?
is the normal silver a better option?

• WGP

Posted June 26, 2008 - 06:45 AM

I have been using this muffler for a few years now, First on a Wr450 then on my 06YZ450.
I like it cause I'm cheap and its cheap:busted:

It is way lighter than stock.
It will give instant increase in power in all gears.
I have the quiet insert in it and I switch it in and out depending on where I'm riding. I have had it tested at the races with the insert and it was 97.5db. They claim the pipe is 99db then the insert will take 3db away. In reality it will be a little louder than 96db (Especially as it ages). If sound is a top priority for you I would go with something else.
The first one I had, a couple of the rivets holding it together fell out after about a year. I just bought another one on RM for $270:thumbsup:
The insert is held in by a single screw as well and probably needs a better design as it wants blow out and leaks around the outside.

So basically it is great pipe but will fall apart fairly quickly, they are knwon to crush easily as well since they are so lightweight.
For a cheap way to get more usable power I recommend it just know it probably won't last more than a couple of years, but for $270 I just buy a new one.