QUESTION FOR YAMAKAZE

5 replies to this topic
  • BEN_66

Posted May 24, 2002 - 06:12 AM

HI, I AM A NOVICE AND THIS IS MY FIRST POST. YOU MADE A COMMENT ABOUT BEARING REPLACEMENT AND REPACK WHEN BUYING SECOND HAND. I HAVE A '99 FROM NEW, WHICH BEARINGS DO YOU MEAN. I'M NOT VERY MECHANICALY MINDED. ALL I DO IS A REGULAR OIL CHANGE. I DID MANAGE TO CHANGE TO YZ TIMING IN 2 HOURS. THANKS

• MN_Kevin

Posted May 24, 2002 - 06:15 AM

Steering stem bearings

AND

ALL

shock linkage and swingarm bearings.

Also, grease the heim (spherical bearing) joint on the upper mount on your shock.

• YAMAKAZE

Posted May 24, 2002 - 06:51 AM

What Kevin said (+) front and rear wheel bearings. Keeping these things lubed by removing the seals and hand packing grease is ok, but after a couple of years of riding the bearings will begin to pit and need to be replaced. About 2 to 3 years is max life on ALL your bearings. Keeping this in mind will ensure many years of Trouble Free Roosting.

There is absolutely nothing worse than getting ready for a big ride to find a bad bearing and your local shop (like Mine) doesn't keep them in stock or getting 40 miles out in the middle of nowhere and have one sieze up.

Bonzai :)

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • BEN_66

Posted May 24, 2002 - 09:32 PM

THANKS FOR THE HELP GUYS, I'LL HAVE A GO AT THAT.

• Tony_Miller

Posted May 24, 2002 - 10:00 AM

I think bearing and seal life depend mainly on one thing; Do you pressure wash your bike? A pressure washer has never touched my '98 WR400, only a scrub brush and garden hose, and I have yet to have any bearing go in 3500 miles of Michigan trails (I've never reset my odo just so I could keep track). Well, except for my big end rod bearing, that is!!!!!!!!!! I don't know how much you guys are riding in a year, but contamination is what destroys bearings.

• BEN_66

Posted May 25, 2002 - 08:56 AM