2000 wr400 newbie here saying gday from down under

4 replies to this topic
  • nzm031

Posted June 19, 2008 - 04:32 PM

gday everyone...

as the title suggests... i am new to this site.. well ive been reading it for a few weeks now, but it prompted me to make a post so thats what im doing.

im from Newcastle, in NSW, Australia and own a 2000 wr400.. and a 2003 KX250.

ive only had the wr for a bit over a month... and its bloody awesome... big and reasonably heavy but freakin awesome.. i love my KX though and unfortunatly i have to sell it.

the reason i bought the WR is because the local law enforcement is cracking down on unregistered bikes in the bush and the fines are $1000 plus.. and i can ride it to work everyday in dirt trim, and take it out on the weekends.

now that i have to sell the KX... i want to modify the wr... basically to make it a YZ with rego and lights and a wider ratio gearbox. ive already changed the tank and seat and other plastics to YZ items... done the throttle stop mod, done the airbox mod, changed the rear spring, stiffened the forks up and YZ timed it.

i want it to point and shoot out of turns, i want it to take off and be stable in the air.. i want it to try and tear my arms off when on the gas... like my KX does.

ive read heaps of threads about it but alot of people are saying dont bother... or you shouldve bought a YZ.. but here in aus... you cant ride a YZ on the road... no matter what... if i could do that, i would keep the KX.

i do alot of general riding... some rocky, some sandy, some wet n muddy, some jumps, and everything in between.. the KX has handled it without much fuss... so i want to set the WR up as much as i can to an MX bike.

i ride it 20mins to work n back everyday... but im willing to put up with whatever discomfort comes with turning into an MXer.

cheers
Linton

• matt4x4

Posted June 20, 2008 - 03:55 AM

You'd have to get YZF Suspension or get the WR suspension reworked drastically to get YZ handling.