new member, new bike

4 replies to this topic
  • kurt827

Posted June 15, 2008 - 08:54 AM

Hello everyone,

I am new to your sight, and really enjoying it so far. I recently made the switch from the austrian based 2006 ktm 450 to a new 2007 yz450f.

We are having a ton of rain here in Wisconsin so i have not had a chance to ride this thing at all:crazy: Being new to the jap bikes my concern is, I am hearing a lot of bashing on the handling traits on this particular model. Some have told me that cif i am coming off a ktm then turning should be great in comparrison, whaty do you think?

While waiting for the flooding to slow i have done some upgrades to include,
asv levers, wb aluminum pro full system, black excel rims, blue tallon hubs,boysen quick shot, pro circuit holeshot device. what elce can i do to improve my ride as far as handling?

Oh ya i am a 38 year old vet b rider, also race 250b

• kain522

Posted June 16, 2008 - 07:29 AM

If I were you, I would just ride it awhile to see if there's anything that needs to be changed. I too came off a KTM and the switch to the Yamaha was very smooth. As far as riding, if you are anywhere close to Chilton Wis there is a great track there called Gravity Park. I was there last Saturday and the track was in perfect shape. Check out their website at

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • grayracer513

Posted June 16, 2008 - 07:44 AM

> Move the forks up in the clamps 5mm (first line), and run the sag at 95-97

> Move your bars up 5-10mm and forward 10-15mm (or more) (will need new bars and/or mounts/clamps)

> Move forward on the bike in the turns.

• kurt827

Posted June 16, 2008 - 08:30 AM

Hey thanks a lot for the fast replies and great info guys.