WR to YZ results:

8 replies to this topic
  • tk421

Posted May 16, 2002 - 12:07 PM

Got the Yz timing and carb changes done theses past 2 days. Ran the bike up and down our street today. Noticed no change. There was no backfiring on deceleration. Bogs off idle if wicked hard (same as before, but no big deal.) The engine idle sounded different, not so much the speed but the sound. Seemed to idle down faster too.

Also first, second, and third gear wheelies felt the same. Third gear wheel pop wasn’t there unless you tugged on the bars (same as before)

The needle profiles looked identical. For a minute I thought it was the same needle until I looked at the tip. There is a noticeable size difference in the diameter between the stock DQR and the stock EJP. The EJP is noticeably thinner. I’m running in the 4th clip.

Thankfully the YZ timing went fairly good, I’m no mechanic. Lined up the I to the tics on the magneto, cable tied the intake gear to the chain and sharpy marked both wheels to the chain. Removed the chain tensioner and cam caps (both exhaust and intake), then rotated the exhaust gear one tooth clockwise. Went from 13 to 12 pins no problem. Only trouble I had was the intake bearing retainer fell part way into the engine and had to be fished out. I found out even if you are careful it can still happen! The retainers actually pop up by themselves just sitting on the bearing before the caps are placed on them. Anyway, I got it put back together, the engine still runs quiet with no strange new noises.

Should I try a bigger main jet? I have my stock 165 right now and a 45 pilot jet right now. The pilot jet is out one turn.

Maybe I’m their now. I’m tempted to take to take and have it dyno tested to just see where it’s at.

Maybe the powers there (say 45-50hp), but the way it gets there is disappointing. :)

The accelerator pump (BK mod) has about .5-1 second. The airbox lid and exhaust plug are both removed.

How can I get more of a HIT out of the power?