Arm pump?

5 replies to this topic
  • pro2k

Posted November 25, 2002 - 05:43 PM

Sorry to ask stupid questions but I'm new to the moto world. I've seen people refering to arm pump but what exactly is it? Thanks for the help! :)

• StreetMoto

Posted November 25, 2002 - 05:49 PM

Arm pump is when you try to do your best impression of Popeye without the spinich.

Its when your forarms pump up so they are rock hard to the touch and you really cant grip you bars anymore.

• pdx_drz400

Posted November 26, 2002 - 11:07 AM

yeah, what he said...it is caused by gripping your bars too hard for too long. Your forearms essentially get a painful hard-on, if you will excuse my terms. People might grip too hard because of adrenaline causing them to tense up or because their suspension or other bike parameters are not set right so they have to spend too much effort wrestling with the bike. Prevention is by trying to stay loose. Proper set-ups are important including suspension, bar height, and steering damper if necessary.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • MrTwister

Posted November 26, 2002 - 06:35 PM

a few notes for everyone on "arm pump". partly it is cramping from a build up of lactic acid in the group of muscles in the forearm controlling fingers, thumbs and supporting the wrist, so lots of long, thin muscles in a small space, usually used for fine control not usually extended heavy use. so we are asking those muscles to do something not really designed for it(think touring on a trials bike!).