Carb problems i'm guessing

13 replies to this topic
  • macca1810

Posted May 22, 2008 - 06:56 AM

Hey i'm new to this i just purchased a yz426f 2001 model after riding my mates bike loved the power but my bike was fairly cheap so has a few minor problems which annoy someone like me who aims to get the bike perfect. The throttle is sticking and i'm guessing it might be a dirty carb cause it seems like its not in the cable. I guess i'll have to wait for the manual to arrive before i attempt to pull it down and clean it. Also its got an aftermarket pipe which i'm also guessing has made the jetting wrong as the bike back fires Anything i should know about these bikes? Thanks Jack

• matt4x4

Posted May 22, 2008 - 07:03 AM

Usually it is in the cables - the return mechanism has a very strong spring.
Go to here and get your manual instead of waiting:
http://www.yamahaown...ook.com.au/?r=0

After market pipe will lean your bike out, adjust the fuel screw and/or get a larger pilot jet, and likely main jet or raise the needle by dropping the clip one notch

• grayracer513

Posted May 22, 2008 - 08:25 AM

After market pipe will lean your bike out, adjust the fuel screw and/or get a larger pilot jet, and likely main jet or raise the needle by dropping the clip one notch

That is not a fact in every case, and in some instances, it's the exact opposite of what happens. A change in pipes does not even dictate that any change in jetting will be required, and in a great number of cases, the same jetting that worked with the stock exhaust works just fine with an aftermarket pipe. Where the core size of the muffler is increased significantly, the result can be that the engine runs excessively rich with the new pipe.

Generalized axioms such as this lead to trouble when people assume they are true, rather than simply basing their tuning work on what the engine tells them it needs.

• matt4x4

Posted May 22, 2008 - 10:26 AM