how to grease 2006 yz450f swingarm linkage

16 replies to this topic
  • husqy360

Posted May 17, 2008 - 02:05 PM

hello fellow riders
im new to thumpertalk and have a few question.

i just got me a new (new for me) 2006 yz450f, bike is in amazing shape!:thumbsup:

so which parts i should retight regrease or re check ?
i will appreciate any other tips.

i live in edmonton ab so any riders around the city that want to ride let me know, im a preety good rider, not a pro, and im 24

thanks for helping
james!
http://www.pinkbike.com/photo/2045377/

how do i attach pic?

• KJ790

Posted May 17, 2008 - 02:53 PM

Definitely take the steering head apart and pack those bearings with grease. Then take the linkage out and pack all the bearings and seals with grease. It doesn't hurt to push some grease in the wheel bearing seals (make sure they are clean first) and grease the axles so they come out easier. Take the chain adjuster bolts out of the back of the swingarm and grease them as well to prevent them from freezing in the swingarm later.

• husqy360

Posted May 17, 2008 - 05:20 PM

will do !!
thanks man

keep it coming

• jamiehughes

Posted May 17, 2008 - 08:40 PM

be careful when putting grease in the suspension link, they have needle bearings in there that will move when you put grease in there.

• husqy360

Posted May 17, 2008 - 08:45 PM

ok thank but how do i open/take apart the swingarm.
my old husqy had a grease nipple.

• Kasjok

Posted May 17, 2008 - 11:10 PM

be careful when putting grease in the suspension link, they have needle bearings in there that will move when you put grease in there.

Actually the right way to do this is to take all the needles out. Carefully so that you don`t drop any and wash them clean in a little solvent bottle or something. Then you can also clean throughly the outer races of bearings and put it all together with new grease.

• drumurr

Posted May 18, 2008 - 05:51 AM

http://www.transworl...1012822,00.html
Good Link

• blue9red9