help no manual/jetting

5 replies to this topic
  • gary.m

Posted May 11, 2002 - 11:40 PM

i need some infomation on the 00 wr stock jetting i have just bought the bike and have no manual it has a staintune muffler air box cover removned it has flat spot at 1/8 throttle. 0000-2000 feet apart from that bike goes great

• skippy

Posted May 12, 2002 - 12:19 AM

Great to see another aussie use this site. Nobody I know in Newcastle use's this site.
I'm no jetting expert but I reckon your pilot jet is too big.
I'm useing a 35 pilot & a 55 paj. It is now very crisp off the bottom.

• SealClubber

Posted May 12, 2002 - 07:36 AM

I would order a manual from the dealer. I think Baja Designs sells them too. Also I saw a Clymer Manual for the bike and they are about $25 US.

What does a flat spot usually indicate, lean or rich?

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Mark_Cantrell

Posted May 12, 2002 - 09:25 PM

A flat spot can be lean, rich, or the CDI (grey wire). If you haven't removed the grey wire, do that before trying to jet it away.

The beauty of a flat spot that low is that you can use the fuel screw to experiment with. It is a flat blade screw deeply recessed in the bottom front of the carb, essentially straight up from the bottom in front of the bowl. In for less gas, out for more gas. When you find which way helps, search for more on the fuel screw for whether or not you need a different pilot.

At 1/8th throttle, the needle is just coming into play. There are suggestions (mainly the xxDMM needle) for replacement needles. If you take your jets out and see what they really are (instead of what the last owner said they are), I'll plug your jetting and jetting with a DMM into JD's spreadsheet and let you know what the DMM would do to the 1/8 throttle position.

Good luck,