Should I bother re-jetting?

8 replies to this topic
  • Joel_Gibson

Posted November 20, 2002 - 07:11 AM

My 98WR 400 has the stock jetting. It has the stock muffler with a Vortec tube installed, airbox lid off, I have not de-octopussed but did put a P38 and a Power Now Valve on. Currently the bike seems to run good and I'm having a great time in the tight twisting trails of Chadwick Missouri. So whats the problem you ask? The problem is I was rummaging through my tool box and found a OBELN - EP Standard Needle jet still in the little Yamaha Factory parts bag, which I purchased long ago and forgot about. The problem is I have an Engineering degree and like most Engineers I believe all mechanical things fall into one of two catagories:
1. Things that need to be fixed. and 2. Things that will need to be fixed after I've had a few minutes to play with them.
Should I step away from the carburator or put the OBELN Needle in? Does anyone else run this setup? If so what clip would I want to put it on and would a new main jet/ pilot jet be in order. Would the performance gains be worth the risk of getting tangled up in a potential tail chasing exercise? Any thoughts from you carb experts?

• Firemnwhyt

Posted November 20, 2002 - 08:51 AM

Joel,
I'm by far the farthest thing from a carb expert but I can tell you this. My 2000 WR400 ran very good with stock jetting, but once I started to mess with it, it only got better. I'm currently using the EKN needle on clip 4, a 40PJ, 65PAJ(S), 158 Main Jet, 160MAJ. Not that these will work for you, but all the trial and error was worth it.

• Hick

Posted November 20, 2002 - 12:48 PM

ELN may be a hair rich here and there, but clip 4 is as good a place to start as any. I can't be more specific than that because I have a 426, and ride at altitudes higher than your avg. MO riding area. Probably.