Canadian '04 WR450....questions as to what's right?

7 replies to this topic
  • CanadianWR450

Posted May 02, 2008 - 05:02 PM

Awsome site, tons of info...in fact, I think I'm in overload....

I'm a COMPLETE NOOB to modern dirt bikes (Last one I was on was a '84 XR 500), although I do have street bike experience

I just picked up a 2004 WR450 (Canadian), and I'm seeing some conflicting posts/info...I have looked at dozens of posts...can someone perhaps set me straight on the following?

Free Mods:
- Throttle Stop - does, or does NOT need to be done on a 04 CDN bike?
- Grey Wire - yes, it has it, or, no it does not, or yes it does, but it doesn't do anything??
- Air box, no snorkel on mine...dunno if there ever was one...mods needed?

Any help to ease my poor confused and overloaded brain would be a GREAT help!
Thanks!

• tribalbc

Posted May 03, 2008 - 07:24 AM

I can't really say on a 04 but my 07 needed all the mods. I know they had a throttle stop back then, pretty easy to tell just by twisting the throttle but my guess if it's a 04 is someone's already done it. Gray wire, if it's there as per the 04 just disconnect, can't hurt. If the top of the airbox is open you're good to go.
As far as the exhaust on a 04 goes hopefully someone who's familiar with the 04 can help you out.

• CanadianWR450

Posted May 03, 2008 - 11:16 AM

Thanks for the info...
The exhust is opened, so thats covered, will pull off the tank and look for the infamous grey wire...if I find it, I'll cut it....air box as you said is already opened on top...I'm not going to bother with the template for the ovals...
As for the throttle stop, I figure the best way figure that one out is to pull the boot off the carb, and simply open up the throttle and look inside to see if the slide is fully open....

• ETP

Posted May 03, 2008 - 06:26 PM

Awsome site, tons of info...in fact, I think I'm in overload....