Total newb...plan to DS an '00 wr400...tips?

8 replies to this topic
  • PoorComa

Posted May 01, 2008 - 06:29 PM

Hey Guys,
I just recently found this forum and register. I also just picked up a 2000 WR400. I'm not new to bikes (8yrs street exp) but I am new to dirt bikes. I've never ridden in the dirt(2 wheels) let alone owned a bike intended for such use, though I have wanted one for as long as I can remember!

My most recent bike was a '96 cbr1k (spent a lot of time over on sportbikes.net) which I totaled back in August of '07. So, I'm ready for another ride and I wanted something that could be used to commute and then hit the desert on the weekends....I think I found an appropriate machine, or so I hope!

I plan to use this to ride to/from work.....so I'm going to need to make it street legal. It will get some offroad use no doubt, but in reality the majority will probably be simply commuting. I'm hoping it will do at least 65 cruising. If I could afford to I'd really like to do a supermoto setup and still have a dirt setup to revert to....we'll see.

Where are some places I could look to get things like blinkers/horn/plastics/graphics/SM wheels etc......

As far as the bike; I got it for $1700 and it seemed fair to me and the bike appears to be in good mechanical shape but what do I know, I'm no mechanic. Is there anything I should know about these bikes? Any common problems? How about common mods and such?

Figure I can expect good things from this machine with my intended purposes?

-Kevin

Posted Image
Posted Image

• Birdy426

Posted May 01, 2008 - 09:06 PM