'00-'02 426 Handlebar Mounted Hot Start Kit

11 replies to this topic
  • rufusz

Posted April 22, 2008 - 04:58 AM

Hi

I've recently installed the HotCams exhaust cam (with auto-decomp), so restarting the engine when it's hot is easy like hell, but to reach down every time for the hot-start button is annoying. I've only seen Dr.D selling a HotStart kit, but for it retails for 100$, is anything cheaper on the market? Is it worth if I'm not racing the bike?

thx

• bustersat

Posted April 22, 2008 - 07:12 AM

Dr D is on my 02 right now. I love it! It is a bit pricy but works great. It locates the lever on the throttle side as well so there is the added benefit of not turning your throttle during the restart. I am just getting into racing, doing mostly practice stuff right now, and having the hot start on the bars is the best. Just my two cents :thumbsup:

• mxgene

Posted April 22, 2008 - 07:16 AM

I have the Dr D one as well and like having it up on the bars.

To be honest though, since I also have auto decomp cams, I have yet to use the hot start.

• brucifer

Posted April 22, 2008 - 08:22 AM

Will a later Yamaha hot start fit. Don't the 03 and up come with a hot start cable?

• jrny426

Posted April 22, 2008 - 08:45 AM

Hi

I've recently installed the HotCams exhaust cam (with auto-decomp), so restarting the engine when it's hot is easy like hell, but to reach down every time for the hot-start button is annoying. I've only seen Dr.D selling a HotStart kit, but for it retails for 100$, is anything cheaper on the market? Is it worth if I'm not racing the bike?

thx

I think everything it seems is $100.00 or in that range.

• grayracer513

Posted April 22, 2008 - 09:29 AM

Will a later Yamaha hot start fit. Don't the 03 and up come with a hot start cable?

All of the 450's and the '03+ 250F's came with the remote hot start, but it mounts to the carb in a different location, and I'm not certain it would fit the older carb.