Can I use regular motor oil to clean my fork internals?

10 replies to this topic
  • Vegemite_luva

Posted April 09, 2008 - 09:09 AM

Hi All,

I am going to try to change my fork oil for the first time and one of the common steps I saw was to: Put fresh oil in the fork; pump the fork a few times, dump the oil; repeat 3-4 more times. I was wondering if I can use just regular motor oil for this cleaning process as it is cheaper and easier for me to get. You see I only ordered one bottle of fork oil and don't want to go through the trouble and added expense of needing to order a few more bottles. Also, can I use conventional oil or does it have to be synthetic?

I know the proper way is to take the fork internals out but like I said this is my first time just changing the fork oil, so I am learning how to crawl before I try to walk. Plus it seems there might be a need for some specialized tools which I don't have.

• ophir

Posted April 09, 2008 - 10:25 AM

I use a couple of cans of cheap carb cleaner.

• MotoGoalie

Posted April 09, 2008 - 12:40 PM

use some kerosene. ive done this and have had no fork seal leakage.

• msgbean

Posted April 09, 2008 - 12:44 PM

You will need one quart plus a little more so you will need two bottles.

• Vegemite_luva

Posted April 09, 2008 - 02:47 PM

These are great tips. But when using carb cleaner or kerosene are you saying I need to fill up the entire fork tube, pump the fork, and then dump? Do you repeat?

To be honest I am not sure what parts need to be cleaned and what contaminants are being removed? Is it just simply dirt from all the parts or is there some sort of varnishing and carbon deposits which would require the carb cleaner or kerosene?

Sorry, that my questions are so basic but my search results never showed what is being cleaned and why.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • pcmech2

Posted April 09, 2008 - 11:37 PM