'09 Rumors

35 replies to this topic
  • rcmxracing

Posted April 07, 2008 - 12:20 PM

I've been googling rumors for 2009 bikes, especially the Yam 450...well TT keeps coming up, but when are we going to get some REAL info on the '09's on the web?! I'm back to a YZ250 2 stroke until I find out what's going on with the 09's. I never came to terms with my 2006 450 Yam - selling it. The front end really bugged me. Honestly I'm not sure if it's a complaint about 450 weight in general or just the '06 Yam frame. I am faster on my 2 stroke and faster on a 250F...at least the '08 KX250F I just rode. I can drive either of these bikes into corners further, and get on the gas sooner and if I make a mistake I can correct. I used to laugh about the idea of a 350cc 4pop but am considering a big bore 250F. The weight of a 450 screws up my cornering ability (races are won in the corners!). If I could have a 10lb lighter 450 I' would gladly take the horsepower...but I don't see that happening anytime soon.

• CaGasser

Posted April 07, 2008 - 04:17 PM

If your racing or been riding long enough you will find out that HP doesn't always transfer to faster lap times. In fact I've seen guys take there motors & have them built to the hilt & end up turning slower lap times. It takes a huge amount of skill to ride high HP bikes fast around a track that has corners. A lot of the 450 guys just point & shoot... in other words park it in the turn & power out WFO to the next turn. But there's nothing like having all that power it can be so much fun that you don't even care about lap times.

• hillclimbguy

Posted April 07, 2008 - 07:50 PM

I'm happy with my 06 450

• DPW

Posted April 13, 2008 - 04:41 PM

2009 Spy Photos Transworld MX

• ProjectDIRT

Posted April 13, 2008 - 08:07 PM

so no plastic change or efi? thatd be nice to be able to keep my bike for another season then have all the changes happen in 2010

• Justin89

Posted April 13, 2008 - 09:22 PM