need help with a hard starting 600R

9 replies to this topic
  • plasticweld

Posted November 11, 2002 - 01:35 PM

hey guys I am new to the forum, I just started riding on-off road. I rode observed trials for 12 years and also break a few laws on my FZR 1000 on the street.
My problem is with my 95 600R Honda is that it is almost impossible to start with out rolling it down the hill, my other bike which is a 87 XL 650 starts when it is 20 degrees without any trouble.. The bike runs like a million once it is started, good power, on the bottom end, the exhaust has had the baffle removed, it has a free flow air cleaner, and according to the last owner has been jeted with larger main and pilot jets. The plug seems fine in coloration and gives me a nice blue spark, it did seem dry for a bike that would not start. I am wondering if the removal of the exhaust back preasure by taking out the baffles has somehow effected the starting of the bike, Once it is warm it starts right up.. Happy with how it runs but don't think I would want to take it anywhere in the truck were I could not bump start it, any advice would be greatly appreciated..Bob

• Moredesert

Posted November 11, 2002 - 03:28 PM

Bob,

First thing, do you know the starting drill with a large 4 stroke? I know you said you have a XL650 but is that an electric start? Do you know how how to prime and start the 600? Just in case you don't here you go. Put the choke on full with full throttle and the decompression release on. Kick it about 5-8 times put the choke back to Half and kick it with no gas. It should fire. If not do it again, maybe with no choke depending on how warm it is out side

If the bike runs fine warm or hot it's most likely jetted right. Do you hear any poping when you back off the gas? I'm woundering if it's lean on the low end. I guess if it had a tight valve you would have problems too. How does the compression feel when you kick it over?