XR 650L High Altitude Jetting

11 replies to this topic
  • tputnam

Posted April 02, 2008 - 06:17 PM

I have a '03 650L that I will be taking up to Colorado this summer, riding between 8000-12000ft. Everything is bone stock right now, I ride at about 800ft. right now and everything works good now. What will I need to do to keep it running up there. I'm not looking for any high performance mods, just going to be doing some fire road/trail riding. Any help will be appreciated.
Thanks,

Thad

• riding4life162

Posted April 02, 2008 - 07:28 PM

I am no expert in carb work but I asked a similar question bout 2 days ago, because I am moving in a few days to utah, where the elevation is between 5000 and 10000 and he told me 155/52 f i had the daves mod.

• RipperFox

Posted April 02, 2008 - 08:05 PM

Keep in mind you are already lean with the stock jets. Then apply the following guide

http://www.4strokes....ch/howtojet.asp

Well written.

And dont forget...Gas is different at high elevations.

• Denn10

Posted April 02, 2008 - 08:08 PM

I am no expert in carb work but I asked a similar question bout 2 days ago, because I am moving in a few days to utah, where the elevation is between 5000 and 10000 and he told me 155/52 f i had the daves mod.

for8K and up you will prolly want even leaner than this, 50 pilot and 152 main will prolly be closer to the range you need for that high of elevation. but for 8K 155/52 would be good, so if you just wanna use that and run rich above 10k then thats your choice. Dont know how long youll be at the elevations, so alot depends on where most of your riding will be

• martinfan30

Posted April 02, 2008 - 08:30 PM

Ive ran 158/55 all the way up to 10,500 ft. Didnt run great, but it still ran ok. Very rich. Just keep a few jets in your bag to change out when you get real high up.

• XR650L_Dave

Posted April 03, 2008 - 08:27 AM