sprocket gearing input needed 04 wr

12 replies to this topic
  • waterman7474

Posted March 31, 2008 - 09:29 PM

i have an 04 that to be honest, is a handful. well, i'm kinda new at the dirt bike scene (been on road 2wheelers) but i'm getting better quickly, but i digress. the guy i got it from has it very well set up; racetech and more notably, i think he's put in the yz timing and/or cam or hotcam or something, it makes stupid power if i can keep the rear hooked up! the problem is, i'm trying to ease off the death defying stuff. mostly i'm trail riding and honestly, it's got MORE than enough power down low, too much! going up tight hills, i'm having trouble with too much power or off. i've been told i need to feather the clutch a little more but it just has so much brute force!

so, i would really like to tone it down a little on the low end. i don't want to kill it but as it is, i rarely use first gear cause it doesn't last long. so it has been suggested that i just work with the sprockets. currently it has 13/50.

what do yall suggest i move to.

• 123BigcoopDawg576

Posted March 31, 2008 - 10:11 PM

so, i would really like to tone it down a little on the low end.

if your looking for less of a "hit" or less torch then try stock gearing for that bike 14/50

i rarely use first gear cause it doesn't last long.

even with 15/48 first is short!

so it has been suggested that i just work with the sprockets. currently it has 13/50

if i was you i would buy two front sprockets...they are cheap and easy to change and will work with your stock chain....get a 14 and 15 try them out and see what you like...when im not desert riding or dual sporting or doing long baja rides i found 14/48 to be just about right

• canyonclimb

Posted April 01, 2008 - 02:20 AM

going from 13-14...hmm