2000 WR400 Smells hot....is that normal

8 replies to this topic
  • dano7

Posted March 31, 2008 - 05:56 PM

I'm new to the WR400 so I know nothing. If I leave the bike running in the garage for 20 minutes or so, when I come back to it it smells really hot...like something is burning. The coolant tank is very audible with boiling water/coolant and a mixture of coolant and oil has leaked on the garage floor from the plastic tubes at the bottom of the bike. Is that normal? I also notice this when riding hard (hard as in high rpm's). Should I be worried or write it off as normal operating procedure?

• husqvarnarider

Posted March 31, 2008 - 06:07 PM

You really shouldn't leave it running that long with no airflow through the radiators :prof: The rads need air moving through them to effectively cool the engine.
I've never had mine overheat from haulin' ass, but high load-low speed stuff will do it....

• dano7

Posted March 31, 2008 - 06:26 PM

Is that true even with liquid cooled engines? I know that this was the case with my Honda 400ex....but this bike is liquid cooled. Does that still ring true? Again my concern is that it smells hot even when riding it at high rpm's....but then again that's usually when hill climbing or other activities where I'm not going very fast....so there's not much air going through the radiator. Does that still sound like not enough air?

• specialk6r

Posted March 31, 2008 - 08:06 PM

With proper jetting you ought to be able to keep it from boiling over while riding unless you crawling around in really hot weather. I also wouldn't ever idle it for more than a couple minutes (about the time it takes me to put on my boots and helmet.)

That said, even when my bike is running great it has a distinct smell. It's sort of a mix of burning coolant and rubber, and I can smell it slightly whether the bike just got started and immediately turned off or I've burned a half tank without stopping. Hope that explains something.