daves Mods altitude question???

8 replies to this topic
  • riding4life162

Posted March 31, 2008 - 04:23 PM

I am in no way a carb expert, I am still learning how carbs work, by reading everything I can on them, but my questions is
1. Does Daves mods work in all altitudes??
The reason I am asking is because if you have to rejet depending on your altitude, how is it that this mod works for different places?

I would like to do it but not sure if it will work.

• martinfan30

Posted March 31, 2008 - 04:25 PM

I am in no way a carb expert, I am still learning how carbs work, by reading everything I can on them, but my questions is
1. Does Daves mods work in all altitudes??
The reason I am asking is because if you have to rejet depending on your altitude, how is it that this mod works for different places?

I would like to do it but not sure if it will work.

The recomended 158/55 is good all the way up and over 5k feet IMO. Just starts running a little rich. I would carry a 155 and a 52 if you go real high up.

• RipperFox

Posted March 31, 2008 - 04:32 PM

I gots a question too. What exactly does adding the washer under the needle as a shim do? What the theory?

• martinfan30

Posted March 31, 2008 - 04:41 PM

Since the stock needle has no adjustable clip positions, this is just raising the needle in the needle jet. Just like dropping the clip on a needle with multiple postions.

Just to richen the mixture a little at lower throttle openings.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • riding4life162

Posted March 31, 2008 - 04:47 PM

The recomended 158/55 is good all the way up and over 5k feet IMO. Just starts running a little rich. I would carry a 155 and a 52 if you go real high up.

ok i see, so the reason everyone uses the 158/55 is because they are 5000ft AGL or below?