Sprocket setup 13X48

14 replies to this topic
  • DownEast75

Posted March 31, 2008 - 05:04 AM

Hello all,
I just bought a "New to Me" '02 650L. The PO that had it changed the front sprocket to a 13 tooth gear. I have read where some people think the 13 tooth gearing is too low. Right now Im just riding off road, but plan to plate the bike in the next 3 months for riding on the road. (Mainly in town) And seeing that I am just learning to ride, I dont drive that fast anyway. Does anyone think that the 13 tooth front sproket it too low, Should I switch it to a 14 tooth, Also the rear sprocket is still stock at 45 tooth. Any recomendations on if I should switch to a 14 front sprocket. While on the road I dont want to overstress the engine with a 13 tooth, and Im thinking that the 14 tooth will be better, but still giving me some low end power for off road... JOHN :prof:

• Motosprtman

Posted March 31, 2008 - 05:48 AM

well ya know gearing preferences are almost like oil preferences to each his own... :-) and riding style, intended useage etc. a common and well liked one is 15 / 48. the stock 14 / 45 is nice if the bike is going to be on the road and or dirt roads better than 80% of the time.

• martinfan30

Posted March 31, 2008 - 07:15 AM

I run 14/48 and 15/48. The 14 front is still good for comfy cruising between 60 and 65. I prefer the 15 for longer highway rides.

• XR650L_Dave

Posted March 31, 2008 - 07:35 AM

If it feels good to you, keep it.

As soon as the front sprocket starts to hook, replace it.

The 13t wears pretty quick, but if you replace it as soon as it hooks a little you will avoid excessive chain wear.

Dave

• cleonard

Posted March 31, 2008 - 09:23 AM

If it feels good to you, keep it.

As soon as the front sprocket starts to hook, replace it.

The 13t wears pretty quick, but if you replace it as soon as it hooks a little you will avoid excessive chain wear.

Dave

+1 on that.