What body size is good for WR426???

3 replies to this topic
  • gsrthomas

Posted April 28, 2002 - 05:43 PM

Hello im new to Thumpertalk. I'm 21 6'1 165lbs from California and I'm planning on purchasing a new WR426. I've owned ATC's and Quads but this is my first dirt bike purchase. I dont know if the WR426 is to big for me. I was looking into the WR250, it would satisfy me for the first couple of months but after I wouldnt be happy with it and i would want something stronger. I'm a quick learner and I always want something faster. So i rather just get into a WR426 rather then buying a WR250 and then selling it to get a WR426. That would just be a waste of money since im in college and in need for money. Some people have said it would be to big for me. But i really want to get it. So please let me know what you guys think. I really appriciate it. Thanks!

• OMAR

Posted April 28, 2002 - 06:15 PM

my suggestion-by a yz250 instead of the 426 and you'll love it. if you need to go further on a tank of gas you can just put a bigger tank of it. I've got a WR250, and a yz426 and my kid has a yz250, so i've got time on them all. I do love my 426 though.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Brian_in_Long_Beach

Posted April 28, 2002 - 07:13 PM

At 165lbs the YZ/WR250 will have more than enough power for you. The YZ/WR 250 is a high performance bike - you won't be disappointed. I've seen a guy my size, 6'4"/255lb, on a YZ250F give KTM520s fits in the tight stuff. The only place the 250 was at disadvangage was the straight fire roads.

Brian

• yamaha.dude

Posted April 28, 2002 - 07:32 PM

Welcome to ThumperTalk.com