Help! What to do with my forks/shocks? - yz400 '99

1 reply to this topic
  • MAZMAN

Posted March 24, 2008 - 12:33 AM

Hey guys,
I have a '99 yz400, and my front forks and rear shocks are gone.

If i press down on the seat, it will go down a bit and then just stop there, wont return back unless i manually lift it up again myself.
Same with the fronts, press it down and it just stay's there...

So, riding it is really stiff, i feel every bump, especially hard on my hands/arms, and the bike tends to bounce off too hard from rocks/rough terrain.

Im only a novice, and ride woods only, so would love a nice soft suspension setup, what id like to ask is the following:

1). Should i attempt in rebuilding this myself? I tend to do a lot of things on my own, so if i can do this without any special tools required, i would love to give it a go, but if the cost's would be too great, maybe it would be easier to give to a dealer?

2). (here in australia, a shock rebuild goes around AU$300, this is what i was told by a mate that got his done), so for both front and rear id be looking at double that! so you understand why i would like to save some money if i can.
Now, the bonus with giving it to some1 in the know, would be that they could set up the shock/forks to whatever i like, so if i tell them my weight and riding style, id be getting a setup to suit me, while if i rebuild it myself, i would just get the same setup the yz400 came with spec wise.

3). Was looking at ebay and seen a few forks/shocks off different models of bikes, like shocks from yz250/426 etc.. but i do not know if these would fit my bike and if its a good idea? being second hand and all...
Any place in USA that sell forks/shocks that would be a reasonable price that also ship?

What would you do in my situation?
cheers,
Danny

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Wiz636

Posted March 24, 2008 - 08:37 AM