Edelbrock question

21 replies to this topic
  • BBA

Posted March 20, 2008 - 04:27 AM

I know there have been a thousand post on the Edel carb but I was wondering if a few of you fellows with the same mods as my bike or close to it could tell me where you found the best results for your XRR from that carb in your set up? I have a huge flat spot right off of idle and if you blip the throttle it will die. I dont know where the settings are at present because the carb was on the bike when I bought it and it never has felt really strong right off the bottom like it should. My mods are Full Akro exhaust and open air box. My valves are spot on and I only run 91 octane gas in it. I've never tried to set up one of the Edel's before and I've read alot where people say the owners manual advice sucks so I figured I'd ask people who knows where to get the best results out of it! Thanks for any help

• Krannie McKranface

Posted March 20, 2008 - 06:22 AM

Take off the tank and seat, and check the needle setting: You should buy the adjustable needle knob if you dont already have one, as it makes adjusting easy (once the tank is off)

I use the # 19 needle, 27 clicks out clockwise (richer).
I adjusted the accelerator pump with a 15 degree turn for 'more pump' (clockwise) from stock. That's the screw/nut thing on the side of the float bowl.

Does the bike have 'decel pop'? If no, turn the needle counter clockwise a few clicks at a time, until you get some, then turn it back back two clicks until it is gone. That is the easiest method I have found to find the 'sweet spot'. I am no expert, but mine now runs consistent, clean, and snappy.

• BBA

Posted March 20, 2008 - 04:05 PM