Newbie Here....gotta question

39 replies to this topic
  • scartozi

Posted March 09, 2008 - 09:10 AM

Hello all,

This is my first post so please be gentle. I've been looking for a new motorcycle and I would like to get either an XR600R or XR650R to convert to street legal and to use off road. Are there benifits to one vs the other? Also, what are your thoughts on purchasing new vs used? Any help would be great. I should add that I've been riding for 28 years mostly offroad and some street bikes. I'm new to the "converting to street legal" aspect of it but I do know my way around the workshop so to speek.

BTW....Great website!!:thumbsup:

• martinfan30

Posted March 09, 2008 - 09:36 AM

Hello all,

This is my first post so please be gentle. I've been looking for a new motorcycle and I would like to get either an XR600R or XR650R to convert to street legal and to use off road. Are there benifits to one vs the other? Also, what are your thoughts on purchasing new vs used? Any help would be great. I should add that I've been riding for 28 years mostly offroad and some street bikes. I'm new to the "converting to street legal" aspect of it but I do know my way around the workshop so to speek.

BTW....Great website!!:thumbsup:

I own a 650L, and if I were to choose between the three all over again, I'd go with the R. The other two are great bikes.... The R just has more power, lighter, better suspension(stock). Plating may be an issue depending on your states laws. Check in the DS forum. There is a ton of knowledge on that subject there!

• scalejockey

Posted March 09, 2008 - 09:55 AM

Owned over 40 bikes in my years of riding.My 650R is by far my favorite do it all bike. As for buying used,I got mine two years ago with stock tires still on and a pipe for 3100. If you can find one..they last forever.

Besides if you get an R you give Martinfan crap for owning an "L"

• martinfan30

Posted March 09, 2008 - 09:58 AM

http://www.thumperta...ad.php?t=582514