These Ebay Triple Clamps hit the stock tank

30 replies to this topic
  • Krannie McKranface

Posted March 02, 2008 - 08:50 PM

These clamps are good quality, especially for the price, but they hit the stock tank, ON THE XRR and cut into the plastic.
http://cgi.ebay.com/...sspagenameZWDVW
If you mount them with (2) clamp nut washers underneath, it prevents this, but they will not work with the IMS or Clark tanks, as they are just too big for those tanks.

• The Regulator

Posted March 02, 2008 - 08:55 PM

Did you let him know? I'm a machinist and I'm pretty sure he could use a little feeback to improve his product. :smirk:

• Norge

Posted March 02, 2008 - 09:04 PM

These clamps are good quality, especially for the price, but they hit the stock tank, and cut into the plastic.
http://cgi.ebay.com/...sspagenameZWDVW
If you mount them with (2) clamp nut washers underneath, it prevents this, but they will not work with the IMS or Clark tanks, as they are just too big for those tanks.

I totally disagree, they work great with IMS and Clark tanks. They don't interfere with my IMS tank at all.

Posted Image

• Brtp4

Posted March 02, 2008 - 09:05 PM

Did you let him know? I'm a machinist and I'm pretty sure he could use a little feeback to improve his product. :smirk:

Tell him also that 8mm bolts and a 1.5cm x 1.5 cm surface-to-suface contact area for the mounts is not strong enough.

BP

• Krannie McKranface

Posted March 02, 2008 - 09:10 PM

Yes, I sent him an email.

• Krannie McKranface

Posted March 02, 2008 - 09:14 PM

I totally disagree, they work great with IMS and Clark tanks. They don't interfere with my IMS tank at all.

Posted Image

Just on the XRR, not the lowly, XRL. Anything works on that bike. Have you tried one of these for your steering damper yet?:

Posted Image

• The Regulator

Posted March 02, 2008 - 09:19 PM

Just on the XRR, not the lowly, XRL. Anything works on that bike. Have you tried one of these for your steering damper yet?:
Posted Image