2000 WR 400 exhust question??

10 replies to this topic
  • headhunter622

Posted February 29, 2008 - 08:11 AM

I am very new to this and just got a WR 400 after selling my KLX 650 5 years ago and excited about this thumper talk, lots of sweet info. Gets the cabin fever running and the itch to ride.

My question is what yz exhaust systems will fit on the 2000 WR 400? I found a deal on a 2004 yz 450 system will that one fit?

• matt4x4

Posted February 29, 2008 - 08:45 AM

OK, here's what I know from my research on exhausts, For SURE, 98-03 will fit on the 2000, even though 03 got the aluminum subframe, the mounting points are still identical.

As for 04, at worst, your mounting point will be off some on the subframe, this can be fixed though. BUT - I just finished looking at the microfiche on the bikes, and the 04 exhaust according to that is physically identical to the older exhausts and the physical appearance changed in 05, so by rights, the 04 exhaust should fit without modification. At worst, all you'd need to do is to weld a plate onto the existing mounting bracket and re-drill at a slightly offset location.

I just got a White Brothers E exhaust - supertrapp style for my 2000WR, and can let you know what I think in about 1.5 to 2 months time when I first fire it up for the season. I'm pretty sure the exhaust also wasn't for the 2000 since it looks just like Frostbite's but is about 2-3" longer (and no, already asked, Frostbite didn't cut his down).

If someone can make this fit, I'm sure you can make a newer YZF exhaust fit a WR.:(Stolen from pic threads)
Posted Image
Posted Image

• Frostbite

Posted February 29, 2008 - 08:58 AM

I am very new to this and just got a WR 400 after selling my KLX 650 5 years ago and excited about this thumper talk, lots of sweet info. Gets the cabin fever running and the itch to ride.

My question is what yz exhaust systems will fit on the 2000 WR 400? I found a deal on a 2004 yz 450 system will that one fit?