Oil in the Stator Cover

33 replies to this topic
  • slopez22

Posted February 28, 2008 - 05:58 AM

OK so here I am NO MECHANIC. But I do my own service and I must of screwed something up. I few weeks ago, I hit a small jump in some sand pits, when I came down I landed in some old barbed wire. :smirk: It wrapped around the wheel, so we had to turn the bike upside down to cut it and get it out. But I didnt notice any oil until I changed it and noticed some oil seeping from the stator cover. I have cleaned it out, then ran it some it seeped some more in there. Anyone have any ideas?
Thanks for the help!
Brian

• porterdog

Posted February 28, 2008 - 08:21 AM

Whether or not you have an issue depends on the amount of oil you found in there. If a bunch came out, like the cavity was 1/4 full or more, that's an issue I'd say and you need a new seal where the shaft comes out the case.

If it's just a small amount, a spoonfull or two, that's less of an issue. The hot/cold/hot/cold of normal operation sometimes allows a pressure drop in there which can pull oil past the seal. Some company makes a little vent tube to keep the pressure equal; dunno if it's worth it or not.

• martinfan30

Posted February 28, 2008 - 08:48 AM

I think this is kind of normal, my 650L has done it since new.

• ToXicD

Posted February 28, 2008 - 08:49 AM

summers racing components sells them.

https://secure.srcin...Cat_Selected=16

• Ryanthegreat1

Posted February 28, 2008 - 09:04 AM

WAIT! What bike are we talking about here?

XR650R = Should have no oil in the stator cover as it is sealed from the rest of the crank case as Porterdog said.

XR650L = Yes you will find oil in the stator cover as it is not sealed from the rest of the crank, in fact it needs oil there to lube the starter gears and one way bearing on the starter ring gear. As Martinfan30 described.

• Denn10

Posted February 28, 2008 - 09:12 AM