Help!! changing plugs.

10 replies to this topic
  • slowcrow

Posted October 28, 2002 - 06:48 AM

I know I saw a post sometime back about changing the plug in a WR400 but I can't find it. I'm a newbie at working on the WR thumpers and now my plug is fouled and I can't get the darn thing out. Do you guys use a special socket or what? Thanks!!

• jwriott

Posted October 28, 2002 - 07:10 AM

You need the socket that came in the tool kit. It's articulated in the middle so you can clear the frame tube.

John

• slowcrow

Posted October 28, 2002 - 08:09 AM

I wish I had the tool kit! I guess I will have to go to the local dealer and order one.

• dominator426

Posted October 28, 2002 - 09:38 AM

If you have a regular 3/8" drive ratchet set, you can simply use the 5/8" spark plug socket with the articulated (U-joint) socket extension.

• Wyatt

Posted October 28, 2002 - 06:22 PM

It never hurts to putr a little never seize lubricant on those plug threads when you install that new plug. It will assure that it comes out easily next time and protect those threads in that expensive head.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Red3171

Posted October 28, 2002 - 10:14 PM

Don't overtighten the plug when installing it also.

• jwriott

Posted October 29, 2002 - 07:49 AM

I just changed my plug and noticed rust around the metal portion that the wrench slides over. Anyone else have this problem? I guess it's water from washing the bike that is getting down in the hole.

I noticed it last time and assumed I didn't get the plug wire cap down far enough onto the plug so that it would seal agains the valve cover. Same thing this time though.

Thanks,

• Superchicken

Posted October 29, 2002 - 07:56 AM