Hello all,i am a newbie with a 98 WR400 question

7 replies to this topic
  • sonic1

Posted February 22, 2008 - 02:22 PM

Hi all

I have just found this site and it looks great!!

I have just bought a very nice WR400 1998,its standard apart from a Big Gun exhaust and in great condition.

I love the bike and goes very well,however is there any tuning mods that can be done to the bike without making it unreliable,i use it for green laning and its road registered.

I have read the mods about the grey wire etc but didnt know if it applied to my bike before i go pulling it apart to have a look

Thanks Again

• SJMC_DON

Posted February 22, 2008 - 02:32 PM

Hi all

I have just found this site and it looks great!!

I have just bought a very nice WR400 1998,its standard apart from a Big Gun exhaust and in great condition.

I love the bike and goes very well,however is there any tuning mods that can be done to the bike without making it unreliable,i use it for green laning and its road registered.

I have read the mods about the grey wire etc but didnt know if it applied to my bike before i go pulling it apart to have a look

Thanks Again

Pretty sure European versions in the 90's were totally un-restricted:thumbsup:

• ncampion

Posted February 23, 2008 - 09:06 AM

SJMC Don is correct. Nothing to do to a non-US WR 400. Just watch the throttle slide, they tend to break and can cause serious internal damage. The 400's are otherwise bullet proof.

• sonic1

Posted February 23, 2008 - 11:32 AM

Thanks guy's it is a great bike and i think i am going to spend some money on it to make it beyond mint condition.

Thanks

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Bamster

Posted February 24, 2008 - 02:59 AM

You could YZ time it.
That really wakes up the early WR's.

• sonic1

Posted February 24, 2008 - 06:20 AM

Helllo Bamster

Can you explain?